V-Twin Outfitters
Grom Outfitters

Shop by Category
California Emission Laws
Brocks Newsletter

Share :
Top Speed Challenge 2012 Event Results
Wednesday, October 03, 2012


This past weekend marked the end of the inaugural season of racing for the ECTA at its new home in Wilmington, Ohio. With 175 racers entered for the final event of the season and a great forecast it was the perfect scenario for a big weekend of records. If the level of competition wasn’t already high enough, the Throttle Nation Top Speed Challenge was being held in conjunction with the regular ECTA event. The Top Speed Challenge essentially determines the fastest street legal motorcycles over six different classes, which results in a fierce battle of land speed racers.

Mark Dotson on-board his Suzuki Hayabusa (2008) - Photo by David Whealon

This year, Brock’s Performance stepped up in a huge way by sponsoring all six classes that were contested during the 7th annual Top Speed Challenge. The winner’s all received a $100.00 gift certificate to use towards their next purchase of “Stupid Fast” products. Brock Davidson had this to say about the event, “It would have been difficult for the Throttle Nation Top Speed Challenge at the Ohio Mile to have gone more perfectly this weekend. Not only did we have beautiful weather with calm winds for the competitors, but we saw very close racing action with everyone heading home safely.”

Chad Millholland on-board his Kawasaki ZX-14 (2008) - Photo by David Whealon

When the smoke settled, Brock’s Performance riders were once again in the winner’s circle and collecting records. Four out of the six class winners of the Throttle Nation Top Speed Challenge were outfitted with Brock’s Performance products. Mark Dotson recorded the fastest overall speed with a run of 223.8 MPH on his Hayabusa as he took the unlimited nitrous class. Greg Neal took the 1000cc naturally aspirated category for the third year in a row, in addition to the 5 new records set during the ECTA event. Equipped with BST wheels, Don Hass won the 1000cc power adder class for an unprecedented 7th straight year. Don is the only person to win the Top Speed Challenge 7 times, and he has been running BST’s for almost 5 years. Veteran land speed racer, Chad Millholland, found his way into the winners circle by taking the unlimited naturally aspirated category of the challenge.

JP, the Editor-in-Chief of Throttle Nation presents Brock Davidson with event sponsor trophy - Photo by Don Smith

“The Throttle Nation Challenge was very exciting as the leader board changed multiple times throughout the course of the weekend, sometimes by only hundredths of a MPH, and didn’t stop until the event was officially closed late Sunday afternoon. Once it was over, I am pleased to announce that Brock’s Performance and BST carbon fiber wheel riders simply dominated the winners circle photos," said Brock Davidson.

2012 Throttle Nation Top Speed Challenge Class Winners

Class Name

Winners Name


Final Speed

Unlimited Nitrous
Unlimited Turbo
Unlimited Naturally Aspirated
1000cc Power Adder
1000cc Naturally Aspirated
600cc Naturally Aspirated

Mark Dotson
Edward Petrozzi
Chad Millholland
Don Hass
Greg Neal
Jeff McLean

Suzuki Hayabusa (2008)
Suzuki Hayabusa (2005)
Kawasaki ZX-14 (2008)
Suzuki GSX-R1000 (2003)
Kawasaki ZX-10R (2008)
Honda CBR600RR (2003)

223.8 MPH
216.376 MPH
212.733 MPH
217.870 MPH
199.329 MPH
179.945 MPH

Brock Davidson presenting each class winner with their award certificate

Mark Dotson

Edward Petrozzi

Chad Millholland

Don Hass

Greg Neal

Jeff McLean

Click here to read Mark Dotson's Team Report from the event

Click here to read Greg Neal's Team Report from the event


Related Articles:

Tell us what you think of this article by submitting your comments below. If you have questions please use the 'Contact Us' form to ensure a response.





Rating : by 12 users